Saturday, 22 July 2017

GPSA Meetings

Below is a list of remaining meetings dates for the GPSA during the 2017 calendar year. All meeting held on the third Monday from Jan. to May and Aug. through Nov. in the GPSA at Massari Arena. Dates are subject to change if necessary.

 Aug. 21  Sept 18  Oct 16 Nov. 20 

Application Deadline

The deadline for nominations each year is Aug. 1.  Go to the Application Tab above to download and fill out an application today.

A+ R A-

GPSA Greatest Moments

Listed below are the Great Moments in Pueblo Sports History:

Year of
Great Moments In Pueblo Sports Year of Recognition Coach
2014 Colorado State University-Pueblo won the NCAA Division II national football championship under coach John Wristen. The Thunderwolves beat Minnesota State-Mankato, 13-0. 2015 John Wristen
2008 Friends of Football bring football, wresting and track back to CSU-Pueblo 2009 Dan DeRose
2005, 2006 Pueblo West H.S. wins consecutive state girls softball championships  2007 Bob Zinanti
2001 Jenna Bimbi (Pueblo Centennial H.S.) finished her running career with five individual state championships 2008 Larry Pickering
1999-2002 Travis Wolther (Pueblo Centennial H.S.) ends career winning five individual swimming state championships 2012 Bob Haley
1995 Pueblo County H.S. girls softball team wins state championship 2004 Earl Poteet
1992-94 Pueblo South H.S. wins three consecutive state girls basketball championships 1997 Jim Harrison
1993 Rye H.S. wins 2A state football championship   Jeff Bailey
1993 Rye H.S. wins 2A state basketball championship 2013 Anthony Ribaudo
1992 Centennial H.S. football team wins 5A state championship 2011 Tom Brockman
1992 Dax Charles (CSU-Pueblo) wins Div. II National Wrestling Championship at 150# 2010 Doug Moses
1991 Bambino World Series held in Pueblo, CO 2006 Dan DeRose
1987-89 Chuck Pipher (CSU-Pueblo) wins three consecutive NAIA National Championships in Wrestling 2012 Doug Moses
1986-87 Kathleen Hancock won back-to-back state titles in the Clss 3A 400-meter dash as a Centennial High School sophomore and junior. 2015  
1985 Rick Willits (Pueblo East H.S.) wins NAIA National Championship in wrestling at 150#
(first Pueblo athlete to win a National wrestling championship at a four-year college/univ.)
  Roger Jehlicka
Adams State College
1984 Pueblo South H.S. wins first state baseball championship 1998 Bruce Colvin
1981-82 Women's gymnastics (USC) finishes as National runner-up team. All-American Kim Villers becomes first individual National Champion at USC (CSU-Pueblo) when she won the floor exercise event at the NAIA National Gymnastics Championships in Milledgeville, GA 2013 Valerie Striggow
1981 State 3A (highest classification) Track Championships held at Dutch Clark Stadium, Pueblo CO 2003 Sollie Raso
1981 Pueblo County H.S. wins Class 3A girls state basketball championship 1999 Warren Chambers
1979 Pueblo South H.S. wins girls state basketball championship 1996 Rich Purcell
1978 Pueblo East H.S. wins first girls state cross country championship 2009 Joe Garcia
1977-78 Pueblo Central H.S. wins back-to-back state swimming championships
(first state swimming team titles won by a Pueblo school)
2008 Dave Knapp
Keith Townsend
1975-77 Freda Hancock (Pueblo Centennial H.S.) wins three consecutive 3A State Track Championships 2002 Larry Pickering
1975 Dale Pat Rae wins Colorado Open Golf Championship 1997  
1972 Dennis Trujillo (Pueblo Centennial H.S.) wins consecutive state titles in the Mile 2007 Larry Pickering
1972 J.J. Griffin (Pueblo Centennial H.S.) captures 2 Mile state title at the 3A Track Championships (highest classification) 2011 Larry Pickering
1972 Pueblo Central H.S. wins state baseball championship. Wayne Pechek pitches semifinal and title games.  2000 Jim Ranson
1971 Roncalli H.S. wins state baseball championship 2003 Guy Kennedy
1969-76 Pueblo Centennial H.S. wins six consecutive state cross country championship 2002 Larry Pickering
1964-67 Great Era High School Basketball: Pueblo Central H.S. vs. Pueblo Centennial H.S. (Ron Smith 7'2 3/8" - Pueblo Centennial H.S. vs. Terry Synder and Eddie Smith - Pueblo Central H.S. 2010 Doyle Fyfe
Jim Ranson
1964 Centennial Bulldogs host the first College wrestling match in Pueblo. The dual was between Western State College and the University of Colorado at the District 60 Gymnasium. 2015  
1961 Pueblo Junior College wins the National Jr, College Basketball Championship 1996 Harry Simmons
1959, 1961-62, 1964 Pueblo Catholic High School wins State High School Football Championships 2013 Jack Brookhart
1959 Pueblo Central H.S. placed second in Boys State Gymnastics Championships
(only boys gymnastics team in Pueblo as of 2012)
Conrad Kern: pommel horse (1st), horizontal bar (3rd); Dave Raymond: parallel bars (2nd);
Don Frantz: pommel horse (4th), parallel bars (5th); Ted Britain: trampoline (6th)
 2012 Jim Daughtery
1955-57 The Road to Glory: The Basketball years that led to the 1961 Pueblo Junior College National JC Championship 2010 Harry Simmons
1958 Pueblo Catholic H.S.  Co-State football championship 2005 Jack Parsons
1956 Gene Poston named Jr. College All-American and MVP of National Jr. College Tournament 2001 Harry Simmons
1952 Pueblo Ordinance Women win State A Softball Championship "PODETS" 2006 Jim Sanford
1950-51 Pleasant View wins back-to-back state championships in baseball. 2001 John DeNardo
1950-52 Pueblo VFW, Lodge #61 wins three consecutive National Softball Championships 1996 Tink Snapp
(Oct. 21)
First Bell Game (Pueblo Central H.S. 40, Pueblo Centennial H.S. 27) 2001 Sollie Raso
(Pueblo Central)
Ed Smith
(Pueblo Centennial)
1950 Pueblo Central H.S. wins the first CHSAA sponsored state baseball championship 2006 Ed Lesar
1964-67 Great Era High School Basketball: Pueblo Central H.S. vs. Pueblo Centennial H.S. (Ron Smith 7'2 3/8" - Pueblo Centennial H.S. vs. Terry Synder and Eddie Smith - Pueblo Central H.S. 2010 Doyle Fyfe
Jim Ranson
1949 Gonzalo ("Chelo" now "Mike") Roldan wins the state wrestling championship at 133#
(became first Pueblo wrestler to win a state wrestling championship)
2008 Sollie Raso
1949 Don Perko wins the USA Golden Gloves Heavyweight Boxing Championship 2000  
(May 15)
Bob Trevithick wins state tennis championship in both singles and doubles 1998 Lawrence Carlson
1946 Pueblo Centennial H.S. wins first state football championship defeating Boulder 13-7 2000 Ed Smith
1944 Pueblo Centennial H.S. wins boys state track championship 2004 Ed or Scotty
1944, 1947 Pueblo Central H.S. wins state football championships 2009 Allison Binns
1940 (July 7) Babe Ruth's final visit to Pueblo, CO 2005  
1940 Pueblo Centennial wins state basketball championship 2001 George Grosvenor
1938 Babe Ruth's first visit to Pueblo, CO in an exhibition baseball game    
1931 (Mar. 31) Pueblo Central H.S. defeated Pueblo Centennial H.S., 29-28, to win state basketball championship 1999 Fred Huling
(Pueblo Central)
Alvin Twitchell
(Pueblo Centennial)
1930 David Packard (Pueblo Centennial H.S.) wins titles in the high jump and discus at the state championships 2002 Alvin Twitchell
1928 Pueblo Catholic H.S. wins State Parochial Basketball Championship (4th in Nation) 2003 Father Monaghan
1928-29 Earl "Dutch" Clark (Pueblo Central H.S.) was the first state player named to All-American Football team. He played football collegiately at Colorado College 1997 Oscar Herigstad
(Central H.S.)
William "Bully" VandeGraaff
1928 Pueblo Central H.S. wins State High School Football Championship, defeating Fort Collins 2004 Oscar Herigstad
1907 Fred Haver (Pueblo Central H.S.) wins four state titles at track championships 2011 Unknown
1892 First Pueblo Centennial H.S. and Pueblo Central H.S. football game won by Central, 4-0 (TD counted as 4 points) 1999 Unknown

Copyright © 2017 Pueblo Greater Sports Association. All Rights Reserved.
Design and content setup by Barker's Web Design Services